Artwork, 1960, October 27th

Constitutive Declaration of New Realism

The Constitutive Declaration of New Realism, drafted by Pierre Restany, is signed on October 27th, 1960 at Yves Klein’ flat 14 Rue Campagne-Première in Paris by Yves Klein, Arman, Dufrêne, Hains, Raysse, Restany, Spoerri, Tinguely and Villeglé.
Cesar and Rotella were invited, but didn’t turn up. Later, Niki de Saint-Phalle, Gérard Deschamps and Christo join the group. The nine members sign the nine copies of the Incorporation agreement.
Technical Chalk on paper
Dimensions 100 x 66cm
Collection Musée d'Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris